Total Eclipse of the Lottery

Standard

“The universe doesn’t give you what you ask for with your thoughts – it gives you what you demand with your actions.”
― Steve Maraboli

A few days ago, there was a full moon lunar eclipse. This particular moon was called the Beaver moon, which made me giggle more than I should publicly admit. This eclipse was following a period called Mercury in retrograde. For those of you who do not follow astrology, when Mercury is in retrograde, it typically causes a phase of what could be best described as general ass-backwardness. I personally feel a stagnation, like being stuck in a whirlpool, or more appropriately, a storm drain! Many folks experience trouble with electronics and automobiles. In this case, it was followed by an eclipse of a full moon. We all know what full moons can feel like. But what about eclipses?
An eclipse is a moment of perfect alignment. So, coming on the wake of our chaotic retrograde period, the eclipse is when things finally line up, and we feel like things are going in the right direction again. A good visualization for this is the moment you look at the tire on a moving car and it looks like the wheels are going backwards, even though the car is not. That’s mercury retrograde. The moment your eyes adjust and process the actual direction of tire movement is the eclipse. Then you view the car and the tires moving in the same direction.
The tires are your mind, your perception. The car is your life. The hammer is my penis. (Sorry for that last one. Inside joke for those who have seen Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog)
The eclipse is a moment that can be a very powerful catalyst for change. One of my favorite sayings is appropriate here:

SHIFT HAPPENS

I have a little sign that pops up every now and then to remind me to be grateful. To tap into the universe and receive energy from it. To keep my eyes and ears open for other signs. And I find them, follow them, and find more. It’s like the Universe is sending me on a scavenger hunt! But I find lessons and connections with people and gifts of a less material nature. And this shift started happening for me in the days before the eclipse. So I kept my eyes and ears open. I started having precognitive dreams. You know, where you dream something and it pops up in real life the next day. In this case, the phrase “getting your ducks in a row” popped up. So, I took it as a sign that I need to put my own life matter into alignment. The Universe can’t do all of the work. You have to use the force. You never heard Obi-Wan tell Luke to let the force use him. Jussayin.
So I followed the flow on eclipse day, and it also happened to be a very large Powerball jackpot day too. My inner monologue while at the gas station went something like this: “Hmm. Things are flowing so strongly and so right that maybe I should buy a lottery ticket. Hmmm. But I’ve never done that and don’t really know how it works. Hrm. You have to play to win.” And in that exact moment, the cashier asked me if I’d like to buy a ticket. So I did. I felt like the children from Willy Wonka, wondering if mine was the golden ticket! I pondered all day about the laws of attraction, and how I could manifest a large sum of money that would change my life and the lives of those I hold dear. I got misty thinking of how I could help people who have helped me. I guess it’s like coming up with your Oscar speech, just in case.
After more deep thoughts about what I would do with tons of money, I started thinking of why I might deserve it. I’m a good hearted and honest person and love unconditionally with every atom of my soul. I have felt like death here recently, and this jackpot would help me to be reborn.

Then it occurred to me:
I can be reborn any time I choose.
I don’t need money to show people how much they have done for me or how much I love them.
These people are my jackpot.
I’ve already won.

Needless to say, none of my numbers matched. But, I came away with a lovely pile of winnings. Just to be grateful every day for what you do have is a huge gift. And I apply this whole situation to my life. You can’t just always sit around and wait for the Universe to give you a handout. Sometimes, if you’re open, you can follow its signs. But you must be willing to actively participate in the scavenger hunt. Otherwise, you’ll never find what is destined to be yours. No matter how strong your powers of attraction are, you have to be willing to meet half way.
Meet people halfway.
Meet the Universe halfway.
Meet yourself half way.
You will find the metaphorical pot of gold right in your own backyard.
Or right inside of your own Self.
And that’s the real jackpot.

 

And you don’t have to waste money on a ticket! 🙂
~M

Leave a comment